Christmas Eve With Our New Donor Couple

My wife and I were invited to spend Christmas Eve with our very newly secured donor couple this year.  When I say “very newly” secured I mean that I sat down with them both just a week ago today, separately, and asked if they would be a donor couple for us.

We made an apple pie and brought it over to their home. I had offered to after our donor’s girlfriend told us that she planned on buying one after all the dinner they were cooking. At the time that I had offered, via text message, she seemed very warmed and happy that I had offered.

The evening was fun and warm, and full of secret glances and smiles.  A short while after we had arrived, our donor followed me into their kitchen.

He greeted me with a laugh as he said “Hey Baby Mama!,” and I, comfortable in our level of friendship and years of knowing each other, plunged right in with “so you are truly on board with all of this?”

For a moment he looked somewhat hurt at the thought that maybe I wasn’t fully trusting that he was 100% willing to be our donor.  But, this was the first time seeing him since I had sat him down and asked.  My heart was too afraid to accept several text message confirmations as truly being on board.

He instantly reassured me with “How could I deny you this happiness? My only concern was that (insert his girlfriend’s name) was on board, and with her blessing, I am fully in.”

So then I plunged right along, and asked if he would be willing to possibly start earlier than we had originally discussed.  He looked me squarely in the eye and told me that he’s on my schedule, and that he’s ready to start donations whenever I am.

I later relayed this conversation privately to my wife, and it made her night as much as it made mine.

We got home that night and we opened a new bottle of sparkling cider that had been given to us to celebrate officially having donors. (We had both had enough alcohol by this point in the night.)

img_3103

Christmas with my family this year was a blast and a half.  We ate too much food, watched the movie Willow, and spent the entire day together.

We got many gifts, but honestly, they were a background in my mind.  The gift of having a solid donor couple, and of having a donor, is more than I could have asked for this year.

img_3121

These pride mugs from my brother and sister-in-law definitely made me happy though.  =)

I hope anyone who read this had a fantastic holiday this year.  I’m very excited to be heading towards 2017.  We have a doctor’s appointment, we have secured donors, and I’m excited for the journey ahead.

Thoughts?

