Ovulation Tracking, and Our FIRST Doctor Appointment!

It’s here; our first doctors appointment is tomorrow.  The one where we sit down with an OBGYN and disclose that we are beginning the journey of trying to conceive a pregnancy at home via artificial insemination.

My wife and I have been together for over five years, and we’ve been married for over a year.  This coming October will be be six years of being a couple, and two full years of marriage.

We talked about wanting a family someday as early on as four months into our relationship.  I have always wanted kids, and to be a Mom.  More importantly, I always wanted to be pregnant at least once in my life.  My wife has also always wanted kids and to be a Mom, but she also knew that she didn’t want to ever be pregnant.

I can’t believe that we are here! I can’t believe the time has come.  Five years of moving, and growing, and saving money, and learning.  Five years of learning about each other, and ourselves, of moving forward in our careers and preparing for, well, exactly this.

Something that is as equally as exciting, if not even more is that I successfully caught my ovulation to a T this first month of tracking-I ovulated last night!

I’ve never in my life, before this month, have known when my ovulation window was for my cycle, let alone an exact time or day that I ovulated.

In more news, our primary donor couple came over Monday evening.  It was “the big sit down” where the four of us wanted to go over the specifics of this whole exchange.  I started out by re-touching on the most important step, in my opinion, which is our donor signing away all of his legal rights.  For about the third or fourth time, he verbally stated that he would sign away all his rights, and even went onto say that he would not have agreed to be our donor if signing away his rights weren’t an option.

After that we talked about what life would look like for all of us if there were a successful pregnancy from his seed.  I’m extremely happy to report that all of these discussions were pretty easy, and painless, and that all four of us seem to be on the same page!

After the serious discussions were over we enjoyed a tasty dinner that my wife prepared,  and we all got drunk and played a Harry Potter game until 1:00 A.M. We had a blast.  There was so much laughter.  We started to joke about the inseminations, and trying to get me pregnant, and I just love that everyone seems so excited, and comfortable.

To say that things are going well with all of this prep would be an understatement.  I feel very supported, and taken care of.  By my wife, yes, but also by our donor couple.  My wife and donor couple seem passionate about trying to get me pregnant.  I’m hoping our appointment with our OBGYN goes well in the morning, and that she seems passionate and excited to help us as well.

We are wondering if she’s going to order an HSG right away, to have my tubes and uterus looked at, or if she’s simply going to suggest we try for 3-4 months before taking the step of ordering an HSG.

I’m not sure which option I’d prefer-to do the HSG now, or to go ahead and try conceiving for a few months. Either way, we’ll find out in the morning, and if she does tell us to go ahead and start trying next month, our donor couple is ready and willing to start inseminations!

I’m expecting things to take a while, and even a long while at that.  I’m expecting a few chemical pregnancies, or even a miscarriage, or two.

And even with those expectations, I’m so freaking excited to finally be starting this journey!

4 thoughts on “Ovulation Tracking, and Our FIRST Doctor Appointment!

    • MommyToBe January 19, 2017 / 8:28 am

      Thank you, sweetie. 🙂 My heart was full reading your amazing yoga blog!!

      Liked by 1 person

Thoughts?

