It’s here; CD1 of Our First Month of Insems

It’s begun; I got my period today.  I don’t know if I’ve ever been so excited to get my period before.

It’s such a strange feeling, because while I was happy to get it I also know that this will be the last month that I’ll be happy to see my period!

In a few weeks my wife and I will start our very first round of inseminations! After this period ends, I will began tracking of my ovulation once again, and then we will meet with our primary donor couple three different days, to do three artificial inseminations.

Since my last post, all the materials that I ordered have arrived right to our doorstep.  This includes the medical cups (for our donor to donate in), the menstrual cups (I’ll insert these to help hold the sperm inside my body) as well as the pre-seed, which is sperm friendly lubricant. (Most lubricants are harmful to sperm!)

As for the syringes we went in person to a CVS pharmacy.  I went up to the counter, and, trying not to seem too awkward, asked for 5 cc baby syringes.

The pharmacist asked me what I needed the syringes for….and I was completely honest.  I told her we needed them to perform artificial insemination at home to try to conceive a baby.

She asked what size we would need, and both my wife and I told her we weren’t sure.  So she handed me a bag with six syringes inside of it, two each of three different sizes-free of charge!!

ALL TTC supplies

This is what all the supplies looks like that we will be using for the artificial inseminations.  Donation cups, syringes, menstrual cups, pre-seed, and ovulation prediction kits.

We’ve got all our materials, and our primary donor couple are ready to go later this month.  We went out with them Saturday night to celebrate our donor’s birthday, and it was a blast and a half.

This past Sunday we sat down with our secondary donor couple to have “the talk” about all the fine details.  As with our primary donor couple the talk went well, and all four of us are also on the same page.

Our secondary donor even asked about future kids/pregnancies, and if we would need a donor in the future! He blew my mind away when he asked this question.

For now we are only focusing on this pregnancy, and this first kid, but the knowledge that we may have a donor for a second pregnancy two, three, or even five years from now fills me with so much optimism and security.

My wife and I are so excited!! I have a feeling this period is going to last forever.  And then of course, after this first round of inseminations we’ll be in our very first two week wait…which I’m sure will last forever and a half.

Cheers to February, our first month trying to conceive; it’s likely that Valentine’s Day will be one of our insemination nights!

12 thoughts on “It’s here; CD1 of Our First Month of Insems

  1. mommysquared2 February 3, 2017 / 6:55 am

    I can’t even imagine how exciting that must be!! We were on Cloud 9 after one initial consultation with our fertility clinic. Good luck and happy baby making!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Nearly 35 March 12, 2017 / 1:21 pm

    Exciting. I recently about menstrual cups helping to keep sperm in. Any lessons learned regarding the syringes? My male partner struggles to ejaculate in me so I may end up having to inseminate.

    Liked by 1 person

    • MommyToBe March 12, 2017 / 1:27 pm

      No lessons learned from the syringe. We didn’t seem to have any problem with it! My wife felt that nothing leaked from it, and I would agree with her.

      Like

      • MommyToBe March 12, 2017 / 1:31 pm

        We used a 10cc syringe. We picked up three different sizes from a pharmacy. 5, 10, and I suppose 15?! The 10 cc seemed like the perfect size to use. It was smaller than a tampon, and large enough to hold all the sperm.

        Liked by 1 person

Thoughts?

