Our Very First Round of Insems, and Two Week Wait!

Warning: This blog posts contains female body parts, and very personal information about a pregnancy attempt.  If any of the above will make you feel grossed out, or squeamish, I’d advise you to skip this post.

It’s happened.  It’s over.  Last week, I ovulated, and my wife and I did our very first round of artificial inseminations.

Our first positive ovulation test occurred on Sunday morning.  We had our primary donor couple come to us that afternoon for the first insemination, and then we did our second insemination Monday night, and our third on Valentine’s Day Tuesday.

I have mixed reviews of our first round went.  Something that shocked me to no end is that I had fun! Yes. I enjoyed being inseminated.  It was exciting.  It was thrilling.  I enjoyed getting together with our primary donor couple, because they are close friends of ours.

We did have some insemination drama with the menstrual cups the first night, and the third night of inseminations.  After our initial first night with that bit of drama I felt stupid, defeated, and like I had ruined every single sperm that was dispensed into my body.

I’m going to skip ahead to the craziness of how every single day has been since our first insemination.  I thought I was going crazy last week, or that we had done something wrong, and that something was wrong with my body.  I got very helpful news from a close friend yesterday, and after a full week of frequently browsing online pregnancy forums I no longer feel scared, and like something is wrong with my body.

I had symptoms and felt extremely off after the very first night that we inseminated.

That’s right.  How in the hell can that happen? It’s way too soon and too early to feel any conceiving or pregnancy symptoms.  So than the fear kicked in; I worried we had somehow done it wrong.

The first three days after our first insemination I woke up and my boobs and nipples hurt like never before.  Let me explain that tender or painful breasts is never a thing that happens to me. It doesn’t happen doing my awful periods, or ovulation time, or ever.  Not until we started dispensing sperm into my body.

I immediately started to google the affects of having sperm in your body for the very first time. It was not a fruitful search.  I also googled being allergic to sperm, because I know that that’s a thing.  That search gave me symptoms that I had none of, and also told me that it’s a fairly uncommon occurrence.  Perhaps one in a million women are allergic to sperm.

Aside from the my very painful and sensitive breasts, I had excessive thirst and dry mouth the first three days.  This might sound strange, but this is the first time I’ve ever experienced dry mouth in my entire life.  It felt like I couldn’t get enough water into my body.  I drank, and I drank, and still my body was thirsty as hell, specifically for water.

The third symptom I had the first three days, and the one that had me worried out of my mind was that I had pressure behind my ovaries.

I’ve never had any feeling in either of my ovaries besides cramps, which I get a few days before my period starts.  I have very heavy, and horrible periods, along with horrible cramps to go with it.  However, I have never experienced “pressure” in my ovaries, and I’ve also never experienced any sensation in my ovaries without being on, or near my period.

My initial thought was “It’s air, what else causes pressure besides air! We put air in my body!” I was shocked about this because my wife and I took every precaution to make sure there was no air inside of the syringe.  The second night I prepped the syringe, and my wife prepped it a second time after I did it.  The first and third night, I watched like a hawk as I watched my wife flicked, and pushed any air or air bubble  outside of the syringe.

My wife spent some time googling about accidentally putting air into your vagina with a syringe…and I had none of the symptoms that were listed.  I mean, none.  Zero.

My wife also read that if some air got in that way it’s really nothing to freak out about or be concerned about.  I calmed down a bit after that, and felt a bit better, but the pressure was constant, and I still worried a bit.

After the third day, the sore breasts and nipples, excessive thirst, and dry mouth symptoms went away.  The pressure, however, didn’t.  The pressure intensified for the following two days.  I also started to wake up with a metal taste in my mouth, and have moments during those days were I strongly tasted metal.  On day 5, I smelled metal for a while.

A few times on day 5, I had a moment of nausea here and there.  These moments only lasted a minute or two, and then went away.  I started to feel *a little* hopeful, at this point, that maybe these were definite symptoms, however the nausea was very fleeting, so I was still a bit worried.

Over the weekend, the “pressure” in my ovaries became full on cramps.  They felt like period cramps.  It felt like I was about to get my period, based on the level of cramping I had, even though they felt a bit different from period cramps.

The “slight” nausea I had the day before turned into mild nausea.  On Saturday I had about a total of one hour nausea.  Yesterday? I had about three hours of nausea.

This nauseated periods over the weekend could be defined as “mild”. It definitely wasn’t slight nausea, but it definitely was not severe.  I also started to get headaches, which is just completely strange for me.  I get about 1-2 headaches a year.  I’ve never had a migraine in my life, or anything close to a migraine.

The symptom of cramps had me freaked out again.  Even though several woman report having cramps during the implantation phase of their successful cycles, I was still freaked.  Even one of my period tracking apps told me many women have cramping with implantation, and I still felt freaked.  I kept hoping it would die down, and simply go back to pressure, but it didn’t.  These two days were 6-7 days from our first insemination, and probable ovulation day, which is a perfect time for implantation to occur.  For some reason, that didn’t help.  I was still freaked.

I had cramps as I fell asleep last night, and anytime I woke up during the course of the night.  But I’m very happy to report that since stepping out bed this morning and going about my day, the cramps have lessened! They have simply returned back to pressure.

I was quite nauseous this morning.  More nauseous than I was this weekend, or last week.  This lasted for about 45 minutes, and then went away.  And then it’s come and gone today, about four times since.

I still have pressure in my ovaries, and it’s very bearable, unlike the cramps this weekend.  I am no longer feeling concerned or worried that we did something wrong.  This weekend was 6-7 days post ovulation, so my wife and I are both hopeful that perhaps it was implantation cramping that I was having.  The continued nausea, and pressure in my ovaries, has me a bit hopeful as well.

Last night I massaged a very close friend of mine, who is also a massage therapist.  I told her everything that I’ve been feeling since last week, and she had some helpful news.  Apparently a woman that we both worked with for a year could tell right away when she had conceived and gotten pregnant.

She would call my friend and say “I just got pregnant earlier today!”,  or “I just got pregnant last night!” She had this happen three times in her life, and she was rightfully pregnant all three times.  (She has two sons, and had a miscarriage in between them.)

Both my wife and I have been googling like crazy, and while they are few and far in between, we’ve found other women out there.  Women who say they knew right away, or the next day.  I’ve even found woman who had sore boobs and nipples immediately, and I felt much better.

It feels good to no longer be worrying that we did something wrong, or that some new illness was happening to my body at the same time as our first pregnancy attempt.

I am, of course, still scared.  I’m scared of these symptoms disappearing all of a sudden.  I’m afraid that the pressure I was so scared of at first in my ovaries will disappear.

I’m nervous to start taking pregnancy tests next week, despite all of this craziness.

As I type this long post I am nauseous.  I have a headache.  I have pressure in my ovaries.

But only time will tell as we finally start testing next week.  Here’s to hoping….this is all still very shocking, and I am a whirlwind of emotions, as I’m sure you can tell.

Fingers crossed and babydust to all my TTC Mommas following this blog, as well as to myself.

4 thoughts on “Our Very First Round of Insems, and Two Week Wait!

    • MommyToBe February 27, 2017 / 9:44 am

      I’m suppose to get my period between Weds-Sat of this week. If I haven’t started bleeding by Thursday, I’m going to take a test then.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. lovemakesafamilyLGBTcouple September 3, 2017 / 5:26 am

    I was so glad to read this as we are 5DPO at the moment but were freaking out the moment after Insemination for all the same feelings you described. Immediate ‘cramping that made us worry we had done it wrong. Intense nausea the morning after Insemination. Symptoms seem to have eased up a bit but we seriously thought we’d got air in there or knocked the cervix by accident or something. Good to know we aren’t unusual!

    Liked by 1 person

Thoughts?

