Early Spotting and a Negative Pregnancy Test

I am 99.9% sure we are not pregnant.  I am 99.9% sure that we are out for this cycle.

I started spotting earlier today.  Which is very weird because….this is early for me.  My period isn’t due until Wednesday-Saturday of this week.

My cycles range anywhere from 28-31 days, and are usually 29 days.  If this is day#1 of my period, or if tomorrow is day #1 of my period, than that makes this cycle either 25 or 26 days.  Which is very short.  I never have cycles this short.

The spotting convinced me that my period was on its way, so just to rule it out I took a first response pregnancy test.  Sure enough…it was negative.  Very, very negative.  There wasn’t even the hint of a line.

I put on a pantyliner, and waited to start bleeding all day.  Waiting for a full on period, even though it’s 3-4 days early for my period to start.

My period never started.  I have had extremely light bleeding and spotting all day.  I’ve been home for nearly two hours now, and I haven’t bled even a drop in that time.

To make matters even weirder I don’t have 2-3 of my normal pre-period symptoms.  One of those symptoms is horrible acne around my jaw line.  I usually get horrible acne all over my jaw lines  right before my period.  The other normal pre-period symptom that is nonexistent are my horrible cramps.

Where are they? They aren’t here.  I usually get warning cramps a week before my period begins, and then warning cramps again 3-4 days before my period starts.  I haven’t had any cramping today, and I didn’t have any yesterday.

The only pre-period symptom I do have is a decreased appetite.  I get that every month before my period, and that started yesterday.

To make matters more confusing a really good friend of mine called to tell me that she got her period while she was pregnant with both of her sons.  She said to me “Maybe you’re not pregnant…but don’t discount it completely.  Your boobs have gotten huge over the last two weeks (she’s seen me twice) and I got my period with both of my boys.”

Confusing.

As of now, I am expecting to start a full-fledged period.  I’m counting us as “out” for this cycle.  I’m looking forward to attempt #2 next month.

I’m hoping to fully get my period later tonight or tomorrow.  The sooner I get my period, the sooner I finish my period, and then the sooner we can get going with attempt #2.

I called our donor on the way home from a client earlier, and the first thing he said to me was “Many women have spotting when they are pregnant.”

I love how knowledgable he is about pregnancy and periods.  I love how he always tries to be optimistic.  He’s a fantastic donor.  We got very lucky.

He understands that I am most likely getting my period, and he is game to start our second round of inseminations either late next week, next weekend, or early the following week.

Here’s to hoping I start a full on period soon.  I’m looking forward to attempt #2 next month.

This first month trying was downright crazy, and a rollercoaster.

7 thoughts on “Early Spotting and a Negative Pregnancy Test

  1. K.M.H February 27, 2017 / 11:18 pm

    How many days past ovulation are you? Implantation can occur between 5 and 12 days after ovulation, and about a third of women will experience implantation bleeding when that happens… it resembles spotting.

    Once implantation happens, it can take two to three days for the Hcg to build up enough in the urine fornit to register on a test.

    You aren’t out until you have a full bleed. Spotting doesn’t count! Fingers crossed that this is implantation!

    Liked by 1 person

    • MommyToBe February 27, 2017 / 11:19 pm

      I’m bleeding a bit more heavy now. I think it’s a full on period, but we will just try again by the end of next week, as I start ovulating. 🙂

      Like

      • K.M.H February 27, 2017 / 11:23 pm

        Booty. Well, our doc told us it can take up to three months for typical women to conceive, and we’re definitely not typical!

        I hope that next month goes as smoothly for you and you get your BFP 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • MommyToBe February 27, 2017 / 11:25 pm

        Thank you. I hope you get yours this month!! I’ll keep my fingers crossed for both of us.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. livelyf2dafull March 1, 2017 / 2:00 am

    i spotted yesterday on 11dp5dt and immediately freaked out. i assumed i was about to get my period.. but it never came. i poas late last night and got a positive. my blood test is on friday. my nurses have said it is very common to spot during 2ww.
    fingers crossed for you!

    Like

    • MommyToBe March 1, 2017 / 8:00 am

      Congrats! I hope the blood test goes well, but I’m sure it will. 🙂 I, unfortunately, have started my period.

      Like

      • livelyf2dafull March 1, 2017 / 11:19 am

        😦 that must have been heartbreaking. best of luck in your next cycle and my thoughts are with you!

        Liked by 1 person

Thoughts?

