I’m Pretty Sure We’re Out For Cycle #2

I say “pretty sure” because my period hasn’t started yet.  But as of this morning, I can feel it coming.

I took a pregnancy test both yesterday morning and today.  It’s still a bit early, as my period isn’t due until the next few days, but both tests were negative.

I posted in one of our TTC groups and several women commented saying “It’s still early, you’re not out until AF (Aunt Flow/menstrual cycle) shows up!”

And while it’s definitely early to give credit to negative pregnancy tests, I can definitely feel my period coming on.

This is surprisingly easier than being out our first cycle; I thought it would get harder and harder with each month that didn’t take.

I’m telling myself that each month that we try we increase our chances of conceiving.  There’s only a 20% chance each month of actually conceiving via artificial insemination at home.

There’s another woman from our TTC group who resides in the same state as we do, and I found out that her and her partner used a midwife to perform an at home IUI.  I reached out to her, and she very happily gave me the information for this Midwife group and encouraged me to reach out.

I told my wife that if we don’t seem to have any luck with artificial insemination at home by the end of the year that perhaps we can try this.  They only charge $300 per attempt.  This is affordable to us, and it has given me some hope.

The only thing I worry about with each failed cycle is if at home artificial insemination will work for us; it doesn’t for all couples.  My wife keeps insisting “this is only two failed cycles, we should definitely keep trying.”

I’m also wondering how likely it is that our OBGYN will prescribe me fertility meds if our third cycle fails next month.

A part of me worries that she’ll tell me that three failed cycles is perfectly normal, and that she’ll want us to make more attempts before prescribing me fertility meds.  But, I suppose it can’t hurt to ask.  I’m thinking of sending her an email once my period starts.

Onto cycle #3 next month, I suppose! It really is much easier this time around.  Hopefully the third time will be the charm.

7 thoughts on “I’m Pretty Sure We’re Out For Cycle #2

  1. K.M.H March 26, 2017 / 3:19 pm

    It depends on a lot of factors. We were prescribed meds immediately because we went through an RE and I have a diagnosis. Sometimes, they say three cycles, sometimes they will say six, before meds start.

    If you go the route of the IUI, which is what we did, I would ask if it’s medicated/unmedicated and monitored/unmonitored. The best chance for an IUI to work is medicated and monitored, but be aware that you may have added costs for sperm cause the sperm has to be washed to make it safe to be deposited directly into the uterus.

    Liked by 1 person

    • MommyToBe March 26, 2017 / 3:26 pm

      We took a set of 8 classes called Maybe Baby classes which explained the cost of IUI and washed sperm, medicated/unmediated cycles, etc. I think we would try IUI at home with a mid wife before one at a fertility clinic, to keep costs down. Our insurance would have us go to THE #1 fertility clinic in the country….which is unfortunate because it’s SO freaking expensive. I’m not sure if my OBGYN would prescribe fertility medals for AI at home. Thanks for the info though. 🙂 We’ll be attempting to buy our first home later this year, and I want all excess money to go towards downpayment and closing cost. If we haven’t conceived via AI at home by that time, I think we’ll try IUI at home with a midwife before going to the too expensive fertility clinic.

      Liked by 1 person

      • K.M.H March 26, 2017 / 11:30 pm

        We “lucked out” in that I had a diagnosis, so our fertility insurance cut in almost immediately, and then we got two free cycles worth of sperm from our bank because our original donor had low counts, which helped keep our costs down. Our fertility clinic is the number one in our state, so understand the expense stuff.

        I don’t see why your OB wouldn’t give you the fertility meds for home. Some straight couples go through an RE and do timed intercourse using the meds, so who knows. Do you *want* fertility meds? I think the answer to that question holds the most sway in whether or not you’ll get them.

        Liked by 1 person

      • MommyToBe March 27, 2017 / 1:36 pm

        I’m really glad you got those two free cycles of sperm. I don’t have any diagnosis to help with insurance. I think I do wanna try fertility meds if we have three failed cycles. Just to see if they help. Right now I’m waiting for AF to show. She’s due today or tomorrow.

        Like

  2. littlerainbowbug March 26, 2017 / 6:13 pm

    It’s a cruel irony for those in the tww that pregnancy and a period feels very much the same! Our “certain my wife wasn’t pregnant” cycle is almost 9 months old and eating raisins right now 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • MommyToBe March 26, 2017 / 6:14 pm

      I agree, it’s horrible that the symptoms are so similar.

      Like

  3. ladyloveandbabydust March 28, 2017 / 10:41 pm

    My wife performed 2 at home IUIs on me after a local midwife showed us how. It was surprisingly easy. You do need to make sure you have washed sperm for it though.

    Liked by 1 person

Thoughts?

